Is it possible to only display the first paragraph of a blog post?

Hi, I am new to treeple and now I need to display only the first paragraph of some blog posts, I am wondering if it is achievable? If it is, could anyone give a hint?

I noticed there is a " truncate" in Liquid, but it can only apply to a single string?

Many thanks!

Hi, @Linda
Unfortunately, you can’t display the first paragraph of a blog post. However, you can use Liquid filters:

• truncate - shortens a string down to the number of characters,
  • truncatewords - shortens a string down to the number of words.

Before these filters you must use “strip_html” filter which removes any HTML tags from a string. For example, {{this[‘Description’] | strip_html | truncatewords: 3 }}

Hi @Irene

Thank you so much for your quick reply!

In this case, I guess I cannot use a single component to display all the posts I want to put on the webpage.

I am sorry to ask this silly question, but I looked through the Liquid website https://shopify.github.io/liquid/basics/truthy-and-falsy/
and the documentation of Treepl https://docs.treepl.co/documentation_group/content-modules/blogs.
Unfortunately, I didn’t find any documentation that explained how to set Liquid for one page?(I suppose I need to do the setting before I can use {{this[‘Description’] | strip_html | truncatewords: 3 }}?)

Could you please tell me where you learned how to set the Liquid object for one page? Thank you so much!

Hi @Linda. Welcome to Treepl :slight_smile:
Can you elaborate what you mean by “how to set the Liquid object for one page”?

The truncatewords filter will work on your description tag in both your list layouts and detail layout, or anywhere you want it.

Here is some sample code for Blogs which uses the truncate method in the list layout (scroll right to the bottom of this page):
https://docs.treepl.co/demo-custom-blog

Let me know if I haven’t understood what you are after exactly.

Hi @Adam.Wilson.